General Synod 2025 Sessional Officers & Committees of General Synod

Sessional Officers:

Secretaries

Rules of Order & Procedure, Part II, Section 5 a)

On nomination of the General Secretary, the Prolocutor shall appoint from the membership of the General Synod an Honorary Clerical Secretary, an Honorary Assistant Clerical Secretary, an Honorary Lay Secretary and an Honorary Assistant Lay Secretary, who shall assist the General Secretary in keeping minutes of the General Synod.

Name **Position & Diocese**

The Rev. Canon Jenny Replogle The Rev. Dr. Blessing Shambaré Canon Stephen Kohner

Anne Dyas

Honorary Clerical Secretary, British Columbia Honorary Assistant Clerical Secretary, Athabasca

Honorary Lay Secretary, Quebec

Honorary Assistant Lay Secretary, Moosonee

Assessors

Rules of Order & Procedure, Part II, Section 5 b)

The Prolocutor shall appoint two or more Assessors to advise the chairperson in respect to points of order and the Constitution and Canons.

Name	Diocese
Ann Chaplin	Ottawa
The Ven. Bill Mous	Niagara
Canon Greg Tweney	Niagara

British Columbia Isabel Weeks

Sessional Committees:

Rules of Order & Procedure, Part II, Section 6

The following sessional committees shall, except where otherwise specified, be appointed from the members of the General Synod by the Council of the General Synod in consultation with the Prolocutor:

Agenda Committee

Rules of Order & Procedure, Part II, Section 6 a)

Agenda Committee – consisting of the chair of the General Synod Planning Committee and not more than seven members to be drawn from the members of the General Synod. It shall be the responsibility of the committee to prepare and publish the agenda for each day of the session.

Name	Diocese
Canon Laura Walton, ODT (Chair)	Toronto
The Rev. Wilson Akinwale	Rupert's Land
The Ven. Katherine Bourbonniere	Nova Scotia & Prince Edward Island
The Rev. Canon Dr. Stephen Fields	Toronto
Commander the Ven. Jennifer Gosse	Anglican Military Ordinariate

The Rt. Rev. Lynne McNaughton Kootenay
Dorothy Patterson Huron
Colleen Walker Saskatoon

Certification of Minutes Committee

Rules of Order & Procedure, Part II, Section 6 b)

Certification of Minutes Committee – consisting of the General Secretary, the Prolocutor or Deputy Prolocutor, the Honorary Clerical and Lay Secretaries, and a member of the Resolutions Committee. It shall be the responsibility of the committee to certify the accuracy of the minutes of the session of the General Synod.

Position & Diocese Name Canon Ian Alexander Interim General Secretary The Ven. Tanya Phibbs Deputy Prolocutor, Huron The Rev. Canon Jenny Replogle Honorary Clerical Secretary, British Columbia The Rev. Dr. Blessing Shambaré Honorary Assistant Clerical Secretary, Athabasca Canon Stephen Kohner Honorary Lay Secretary, Quebec Anne Dyas Honorary Assistant Lay Secretary, Moosonee Professor David Bell (crossover member) Resolutions Committee, Fredericton

Credentials Committee

Rules of Order & Procedure, Part II, Section 6 c)

Credentials Committee – consisting of the General Secretary, the Prolocutor or Deputy Prolocutor, and one Assessor. It shall be the responsibility of the committee to report to the General Synod on the standing of all persons who claim membership therein, and to advise the chairperson as to a quorum of each Order.

NamePosition & DioceseCanon Ian AlexanderInterim General SecretaryThe Ven. Tanya PhibbsDeputy Prolocutor, HuronIsabel WeeksAssessor, British Columbia

Nominating Committee

Rules of Order & Procedure, Part II, Section 6 d)

Nominating Committee – consisting of one bishop, one clerical member and one lay member from each ecclesiastical province. The committee shall be constituted not later than one month prior to the opening of the General Synod, to receive nominations for standing committees and the Council of the General Synod and to supervise the election process.

Name	Position & Diocese
British Columbia and Yukon The Rt. Rev. Clara Plamondon (Chair) The Very Rev. David Tiessen Meg Stevens	Bishop, Territory of the People Clergy, Kootenay Lay, New Westminster
Canada The Most Rev. David Edwards The Ven. Terry Caines	Bishop, Fredericton Clergy, Central Newfoundland

Edith Marshall Lay, Nova Scotia & Prince Edward Island

Northern Lights

The Rt. Rev. Rachael Parker

The Rev. Canon Iain Luke

Cathy Armstrong

Bishop, Brandon

Clergy, Saskatoon

Lay, Edmonton

Ontario

The Rt. Rev. Kevin Robertson

The Ven. Kathryn Otley

Adam MacNeil, O.N.

Bishop, Toronto

Clergy, Ottawa

Lay, Niagara

Resolutions Committee

Rules of Order & Procedure, Part II, Section 6 e)

Resolutions Committee – consisting of up to eight members, one of whom shall be an Assessor, and with at least one bishop, one clerical and one lay member. It shall be the responsibility of the committee to receive resolutions from members of the General Synod and prepare them for submission in accordance with guidelines approved from time to time by the Council of the General Synod.

Name Position & Diocese

The Rt. Rev. Nigel Shaw (Chair)

Bishop, Anglican Military Ordinariate

Professor David Bell Lay, Fredericton
The Rev. Matthew Brown Clergy, Ottawa
Dion Lewis Lay, Montreal

Helen Love Lay, British Columbia
The Ven. Bill Mous Clergy, Niagara (Assessor)

The Rev. Canon Nicola Skinner Clergy, Toronto Hannah Wygiera Lay, Calgary

Expenditures Committee

Rules of Order & Procedure, Part II, Section 6 f)

Expenditures Committee – consisting of members appointed by the Primate and the Prolocutor in consultation with the chairperson of the Financial Management Committee. It shall be the responsibility of the committee to implement Rule of Order 15 with respect to spending motions for which sources of funds have not been identified prior to the General Synod session.

Name Position & Diocese

The Rev. Canon Patricia Dorland (Chair) Chair, Financial Management Committee, Moosonee

Cathy Armstrong Edmonton
The Very Rev. Dr. Tim Dobbin Niagara

The Ven. Tanya Phibbs Deputy Prolocutor, Huron

Michael Wolff British Columbia

Updated: June 10, 2025